I’m gonna take the trash out; I’ll be right back…

A 12-bar blues is […] generally three statements: […] take any situation – “Honey, I’m gonna take the trash out; I’ll be right back.” And she goes, “What?” And you have to repeat yourself: “Honey, I’m taking the trash out; I’ll be right back.” There’s a little more frustration in having to repeat yourself. She says, “I didn’t hear you.” And you go, “Look—I’m taking the trash outside; I don’t like it, but I’ve gotta take it out.” So, there’s a third phrase that’s different than the other two. That’s basically how a 12-bar blues is: “I woke up this morning, and I was feeling no pain…I said, I woke up this morning, and I was feeling no pain…I woke up this morning, and I don’t ever want to go back to sleep, again.” The frustration of having to say it again builds to a conclusion, and that’s basically how a lot of 12-bar blues narratives work.

aus: John Popper – Visions Of A Traveler (dringende Leseempfehlung, übrigens).

Autor: Daniel Heinze

radio guy, pr consultant, traveller, music enthusiast: 2% jazz & 98% funky stuff.

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

Diese Seite verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden..